High Mind

Forgiveness

forgiveness

 

“I don’t want to be angry with him anymore”, I thought to myself.

“I want to get past the pain that resulted from him not being “ready” for a relationship.”

“I want to release that lover who mentally/physically abused me.”

“I want to forgive the friend who betrayed me.”

“I need to let go of the hurt associated with her harsh words.”

One day I awoke and I didn’t want to be angry with these people anymore. I no longer wanted to hold on to feelings of resentment, anger and unforgiveness. I needed to release them. I wanted to release them. For I knew that in releasing them, I would release myself. I mentioned these feelings to a friend who suggested the Ho’oponopono method. This Hawaiian practice of clearing or forgiveness was discussed in Joe Vitale’s book Zero Limits. My friend instructed that anytime I experience sentiments of non-forgiveness I should repeat this mantra… “I love you. I’m sorry. Please forgive me. Thank you.”

I have been practicing this method regularly though, I must admit it feels strange at times. Surprisingly, I find myself thinking of those who have hurt me with love as opposed to anger. Repeating this simple set of phrases conjures feelings of unconditional love. I understand that anger and pain are not worth holding on to. I understand that this life and its experiences are all illusions being used to evolve my immortal inner self. All the hurt I’ve experienced has the capacity to teach, heal and grow me. I choose peace and freedom over anger and resentment.

 

I love you.

I’m sorry.

Please forgive me.

Thank you.

 

 

 

P.S. You can also use this method to forgive yourself 🙂

4 thoughts on “Forgiveness

  1. What has helped me to heal and let go of hurt is the understanding of the EGO. All have an EGO. That is the “false you” the part that is detached from your spiritual center which really is your heart. The center of you is all LOVE. It is whole and strong. The EGO is a false perception of yourself. It is the MIND in FEAR. Wherever there is FEAR there is a sense of insecurity, powerlessness and confusion. The EGO is FEAR. When perceiving through this EGO there is nothing but weakness and negativity. The EGO is a NOT A WHOLE MAN. LOVE IS WHOLENESS. Whenever the person is not whole NO RELATIONSHIP CAN BE WHOLE. There will always be hurt and pain. The EGO (not the real you) experiences these BLOWS time and time again. THE ANSWER IS LOVE. THE LOVE IS SELF LOVE. YOU MUST LOOK AT YOURSELF AND SEE THE VALUE OF YOUR OWN HEART. YOU MUST LIVE IN INTEGRITY. NEVER COMPROMISING. NOT FOR ANYONE. NOT EVEN FAMILY. This has helped me beyond measure. I understand now that LOVE DOES NOT MEAN I HAVE TO COMPROMISE MY PRINCIPLE OR MY INTEGRITY.

Leave a Reply

