Life

Tuesdays with Morrie & Great Life Lessons

The monotony of this first week in June had become a heavy, overbearing presence. Even with my volunteer work and other personal projects my days were not full enough to keep me sufficiently occupied. Boredom and restlessness had taken up residence in my psyche.

I thought of the different things I could do to pass time. Most of them would cost money…money I didn’t have. Then it came to me… I should find a book to read. What’s funny is that a book actually found me.

There it was, sitting on a friend’s shelf with a most curious title. Tuesdays with Morrie. I didn’t expect it to move me or to leave me with any indelible impressions but it did. This book documents the last conversations between a dying man and his former student. While faced with his own mortality Morrie ponders existence and shares what he deems are life’s most important lessons. These lessons were so timely, poignant and moving that I decided to share some of them with you, my readers….

Enjoy!

“The culture we have does not make people feel good about themselves. And you have to be strong enough to say if the culture doesn’t work, don’t buy it.” 

“The most important thing in life is to learn how to give out love, and to let it come in.” 

Sometimes you cannot believe what you see, you have to believe what you feel.” 

“We’re so wrapped up with egotistical things, career, family, having enough money, meeting the mortgage, getting a new car, fixing the radiator when it breaks…So we don’t get into the habit of standing back and looking at our lives and saying, Is this all? Is this all I want? Is something missing?” 

Morrie on emotion… “By throwing yourself into these emotions, by allowing yourself to divie in, all the way, over your head even, you experience them fully and completely. You know what pain is. You know what love is. You know what grief is. And only then can you say, ‘All right. I have experienced that emotion. I recognize that emotion. Now I need to detach  from that emotion…” 

“Turn on the faucet. Wash yourself with emotion. It won’t hurt you. It will only help. If you let the fear inside, if you pull it on like a familiar shirt, then you can say to yourself, “All right, it’s just fear, I don’t have to let it control me. I see it for what it is.” 

“We’ve got a form of brainwashing going on in our country…They repeat something over and over…Owning things is good. More money is good. More property is good…More is good. More is good. We repeat it and have it repeated to us over and over until nobody bothers to even think otherwise. The average person is so fogged up by all this, he has no perspective on what’s really important anymore.” 

“I’ve learned this much about marriage, You get tested. You find out who you are, who the other person is, and how you accommodate or don’t.”

Here’s to inspirational folk like Morrie Schwartz 🙂

Leave a Reply

