Life / Writings

Harsh Reality

Ideal: a conception of something in its perfection (dictionary.com)

I live in a world of ideals…

I consume, breathe and regurgitate them

each and every day.

Somewhere in my spiritual journey I must have come across a utopia.

A place drenched in love and smothered by justice.

A place where cultivation of the soul was touted over cultivation of riches.

I must have resided in this place.

This is the only way I can explain my current condition.

This keen ability to SEE all that we are doing wrong and to want so desperately to change it.

In seeing the selfishness, destruction and manipulation present in our world I have developed a concept of ideals which I strongly adhere to.

It would be great if relationships were always healthy and uplifting, this is not the case.

It would be great if the earth & all its inhabitants (plant, animal, and mineral) were treated with the utmost respect, this is not the case either.

I’ve held on to these ideals in hopes that one day I’d get another glimpse of the utopia that grips my subconscious…

Yet, now I understand that this holding on breeds a resistance of reality.

Somewhere in between ideals and indifference lies a healthy view of our world.

It is imperative that I strike this balance and release resistance.

Wish me luck 🙂

Leave a Reply

